3 Unmistakable Signs it’s True Love

English: True Love CoupleIn early January, the hubby and I embarked on a one-year Bible Reading Plan. Today, we completed Exodus Chapters 20-22. But when we encountered the scripture below a couple of weeks ago, I mentally “stopped tape.”

Genesis 29:18-20 (KJV)

English: Jacob meets Rachael at the well18 And Jacob loved Rachel; and said, I will serve thee seven years for Rachel thy younger daughter.

19 And Laban said, It is better that I give her to thee, than that I should give her to another man: abide with me.

20 And Jacob served seven years for Rachel; and they seemed unto him but a few days, for the love he had to her.

Here’s the thing. I cheat a little. I read along while actor Max McLean  narrates through a free Bible Gateway app.

What an experience. The faux British voice-over adds a touch of drama and beauty to the stories. Hearing the words at verse 20 read aloud – and in context – flattened me. Aren’t you just a little envious of Rachel? I’ve been married almost seventeen (17) years, and my spouse tells me nearly every day that he loves me. Whether he says the words – or demonstrates the emotion through “acts of service” – I’m palpably aware of the sentiment. But seven years??? I think Rachel deserves a “high five” across the centuries. How about you? 🙂

So, what are the three (3) signs it’s true love?

My Love(1) He tells your parents – and anyone else who’ll listen – that he loves you, wants only you, and will wait for you. Jacob got everything right. If we’re smart, we’ll teach our sons to pledge this kind of commitment and our daughters to expect and appreciate it.

(2) Your parents – and close loved ones – approve of the union and welcome him into the family. To be honest, it won’t always happen; but it’s nice when it does. If your family and friends loathe your fiancé, however, pray earnestly about your decision. Someone’s (look up!) trying to tell you something.

(3) He works hard to ensure your happiness and savors the process. If the journey to the altar feels more like forced labor on a chain gang than frenzied exhilaration, reconsider your course. Poor relationships rarely improve after marriage – even when both parties love the Lord. When a future without Mr. Wonderful looks brighter than one with him, pass … unless, of course, the Lord says otherwise.

Now it’s your turn. Would a man like Jacob still be a catch in 2013? What do you consider the signs of true love? Please share a comment below. (Ensure you’ll receive another “Sybliminal Message” next week by following my blog via email or RSS.) Blessings!

2 thoughts on “3 Unmistakable Signs it’s True Love

  1. Amen! I think we need to start expecting more from potential spouses … and being more ourselves. As a former counselor, I’ve seen the impact of settling. We need to put our faith in God that He wil provide, not placing our hopes in a relationship to solve our ills.

Leave a Reply

