Winning the Social Media Marketing Game

Google Uses Microsoft!
Google Uses Microsoft! (Photo credit: Ben Oswest)

Okay… I’ll admit it. I’ve been very naive. I had no idea what it would take to market a writing career before I completed my first novel a few days ago. I put all that off so I could concentrate on completing the book before I lost my inspiration. I figured, “How hard can it be to market a book anyway?”

After all, I had been an entrepreneur in the past. Over the course of the twelve years I’d spent practicing personal injury law, I’d devoted half to solo practice. I’d knocked on doors, I’d done lunches, I’d run newspaper  and radio ads (give me a break — what did I know?). I’d handed out “gazillions” of business cards and brochures. While employed by others, I’d done PowerPoint presentations before churches and civic groups. I had prepared newsletters for distribution via Constant Contact. Simply put, I thought I was “the man” (LOL!).

But, here we are… I’m starting all over again, and I don’t have a clue what I’m doing (Hahahaha!). I started this blog a little over a week ago, and it was a “hot mess” (to coin a phrase). It’s a bit less of a tragedy now, but I’ve still got a long way to go. Nothing drives that point home like visiting and subscribing to other writers’ pages. I’ve got to hand it some of you–you’re a creative, inventive, eclectic bunch. But, surely all those years of marketing meant something…

I’ve been on LinkedIn for a while now. Although I’ve had a personal Facebook account for several years, though, I only launched a public author page yesterday. (I’d like to stop now to give a shout out to all of the dear Facebook friends and ACFW members who’ve supported that effort by “liking” my page over the past twenty-four hours.)

The Facebook Author Page is still in its infancy, but God has already blessed me with 19 “likes” to date. (Yea!!!) Unfortunately–because of a technical problem–I can’t seem to return the favor by “liking” others’ Facebook pages from my new page. I can only do so from my personal page. (The trusty Facebook team is working on that as we speak.) And, guess what, guys? Wonder of wonders–I’ve already seen results. My stats have been tremendous, and I’ve seen remarkable movement on Google, Bing and Yahoo.

So, what’s the point of this rather rambling blog post? I just wanted to reassure those of you who are new to the whole writer marketing thing that you’re not alone. We’re all “Esthers” now–whether male or female. Perhaps we’ve simply come to the Kingdom for such a time as this. So, what do you say? Let’s forge ahead and give this social media marketing thing a go. What’s the worst that can happen? Never mind. Don’t answer that (LOL!). Answer this instead… What’s the most daunting task you’ve encountered with launching into social media marketing, and why?

Blessings!

Sybil

8 thoughts on “Winning the Social Media Marketing Game

  1. I’m no stranger to social media either, but I think I jumped the gun way too soon and now I feel like I’m fumbling around. Thanks to the course on ACFW I’m figuring out what I need to do platform-wise. I’m working on creating another blog, well actually moving an old one to a new spot, one that focuses on my historicals.

    1. Hi, Sharon… I know exactly how you feel. I apologize for the fact that I didn’t respond earlier, but your post somehow ended up in my spam folder. I hope this is one of those “better late than never” kind of things. I’d hate to be considered a rude blog hostess. LOL! God bless you, and thanks so much for stopping by… 🙂

  2. I think marketing is hard in its self. I wrote a book a few years back call Tay’s unlocked journal. I wrote this book out of sparetime that i had. I didn’t want to truly publish it so i self published the book. I found that to fit my needs. I wanted to do more marketing and even make the book better i was told i should. But i haven’t found the motivation to start. It took a lot just writing it. But congrats on yours.

Leave a Reply

